14/kunstakt

Entitled “Die Vermessung der Dinge” (Measuring All Things), this year’s kunstakt once again allows seven young artists to exhibit their latest works in the law firm’s offices.

Creating a direct reference to the building and the people working in it, the artists have developed works that – using a plethora of artistic media and styles – address contextual questions of the law, the normative force of terminologization and its effect on interpretation. We have learned to constantly check where we stand and to plan, measure and judge our progress.

But couldn’t there still be other ways?

fwp supports the artists in selling their works and is glad to provide any additional information.

Super Véro

Opening Show_02 | 2013
Performative installation & live performance Museum poster in A0 format (841 mm x 1189 mm)
Offset printing
Price: € 20

Pistol-shaped microphone, epoxy resin, 1/5
Artist Fanzine (160 mm x 230 mm)
Digital print, folded, 64 pages
Price: € 900

Super Véro is a young female artist with the “MEGA CV”, who can change her gender and appearance as she pleases. The artist herself is never present in person. In my work, Super Véro is a placeholder for positions that are invisible and not recorded in linear art history.

The CV in itself becomes a stage for performance, and the question “Who is Super Véro” is addressed live on this stage.

Patrick Roman Scherer

Object
Rosinensterben (Dying raisins) | 2013
Pencil on paper
86 x 61cm (base)
Price: € 2,500

Drawings
Untitled | 2013
Pencil on paper
16 pieces, 14.8 x 21 cm
Price: € 250 per drawing
Graphite drifting on paper, reflecting thoughts…

Memories and feelings grow into autonomous stories when put on paper, where they float freely, loose in one place, thicker and more concentrated in another. Thoughts add up, one to the other to form landscapes of images and symbols and create an order beyond all hierarchical principles.

Catharina Bond

“Juristische Grauzone auf Kuhaut” (Legal limbo on cowhide) | 2013
C-type print, 1/3
80 x 120 cm
Price: € 1,400

For this exhibition, I respond specifically to fwp’s office premises. In the resulting photography, I try to capture and question the social structures, rules and also the legal contents of this environment.

Modern Nomad | 2013

Mixed media on canvas
170 x 200 cm
Price: € 1,900

Conquer! The works deal with spatial restructuring, controlling or allowing movement. Distinct elements overlap, sometimes soft and blending, sometimes hard and contrasting. The resulting relationships are an attempt at getting closer to reality.

The origination process is comparable to history and how borders were formed – they were moved, merged, redrawn or eliminated over the course of different periods and driven by human beings and organisations, nature, accident and strategy. Today’s segmentation is understandable only based on historical details. Any attempt to make history decipherable as a whole is doomed to fail. There are many explanations and methods of reconstruction. Questions emerge and grow. A kind of unrest develops, which can be comforting and threatening at the same time.

Agnes Prammer

“lorem ipsum” | 2013
framed 21 x 28 cm
Ferrotype, with screen printing
Price: € 1,900 per piece, entire series: € 5,000

In the series “lorem ipsum”, Agnes Prammer shows five ferrotypes (photographs on metal plates photographed with a technique used in the 19th century). The artist analyses the language used in the invitations to earlier kunstakt events, whose aim it was to build bridges between art and law, and paraphrases them on the exhibited nature photos.

Screen printings of single letters are superimposed on the photographs. Together, they form the word “image”, playing on the ambiguity of the word and its meanings “image/picture” versus “image/reputation” and again linking art and law. For it is especially in law where language – and knowing how to play with it and interpret it – assumes major importance. “Lorem ipsum”, however, cannot be interpreted conclusively.

Darina Kmetova

From Off to On | 2013
Drawings, collages
40x38cm, 50x38cm, 50x38cm, 50x38cm, 62x82cm, framed

……my works are a visualization of a highly focused approach to the line, an element that I employ subtly, experimentally and sensuously. My preferred techniques are drawing, collage and intaglio printing.

The moment I make the drawings and collages leave the framed medium to conquer the wall and surrounding space, they start to elude traditional interpretation. I draw on the surrounding wall and stick paper elements to it which I cut out or rip out of newspapers, magazines and writings I find.

….it is a tentative, circular approach to the repetitive, partly figurative, partly abstract subjects, with light, shimmering, sensitive and subtle elements.

Nora Hofbauer

Raumordnung (Spatial planning) | 2013
Objects:
Nylon stockings, cotton wool, stitching silk, MDF, plates, putty
Price: € 800 per object

Drawings:
Red chalk on paper
14.8 x 21 cm, framed
Price: € 170 per drawing

My work deals with physical places but also mental constructions, personal fields of action and space for thinking, emotional models that reduce complexity and enable order but at the same time limit and restrict.

These spaces can be renewed, enlarged, converted and refurnished, or demolished and reconstructed, disposed of or simply left.

What interests me is the question surrounding the temporary quality, the incompleteness and the plasticity of given conditions and circumstances and the potentials for growth and change within an imaginary or effective order.

Biomorphic forms are located in fragmentary spaces which find a temporary home in the premises granted to us. The drawings show snippets of an otherwise inaccessible and invisible and thus unknown inside.

14/kunstakt

Unter dem Titel „Die Vermessung der Dinge“ stellen auch heuer wieder sieben junge KünstlerInnen ihre aktuellen Arbeiten in den Kanzleiräumlichkeiten aus.

Die KünstlerInnen haben unter direkter Bezugnahme auf die Spezifika des Gebäudes und der handelnden Personen Arbeiten entwickelt, die sich in unterschiedlichsten künstlerischen Medien und Handschriften intensiv mit inhaltlichen Fragen des Rechts, der normierenden Kraft der Terminologisierung und deren interpretativer Auswirkung auseinandersetzen. Wir haben gelernt, stetig unsere Position zu bestimmen, unseren Fortgang zu planen, zu messen und zu urteilen.

Könnte es nicht trotzdem auch anders sein?

fwp unterstützt die jungen Künstler beim Verkauf ihrer Kunstwerke und steht für Auskünfte gerne zur Verfügung.

Super Véro

Opening Show_02 | 2013
Performative Installation & Live-Performance
Museumsposter in A0 (841 mm x 1189 mm)
Offsetdruck
Preis: € 20,-

Pistolenmikrophon, Epoxyharz, 1/5
Artist Fanzine (160 mm x 230 mm)
Digitaldruck, gefalzt, 64 S.
Preis: € 900,-

Super Véro ist eine junge Künstlerin mit dem „ÜBER-CV“, die ihr Geschlecht und ihre Erscheinung je nach Belieben ändern kann. Die Künstlerin selbst ist niemals physisch anwesend. Super Véro steht in meiner Arbeit als Platzhalter für nicht sichtbare und linear kunstgeschichtlich nicht erfasste Positionen.

Die Geschichte des CVs wird selbst zur Performancebühne und die Frage: „Wer ist Super Véro?“ wird in der Live-Performance verhandelt.

Patrick Roman Scherer

Objekt
Rosinensterben | 2013
Bleistift auf Papier
86 x 61cm (die Grundfläche des Sockels)
Preis: € 2.500,-

Bilder
o.T. | 2013
Bleistift auf Papier
16 Stück, 14, 8 x 21 cm
Preis: € 250,- pro Bild
Denknotizen aus Graphit, die über Papier driften…

Erinnertes und Empfundenes wachsen auf dem Blatt zu autonomen Geschichten, die sich da freier, dort dichter und konzentrierter entfesseln. Durch das additive Denken in Bild- und Symbollandschaften ergibt sich eine Ordnung außerhalb des hierarchischen Prinzips.

Catharina Bond

„Juristische Grauzone auf Kuhaut“ | 2013
C-Print, 1/3
80 x 120 cm
Preis: € 1.400,-

Für diese Ausstellung gehe ich spezifisch auf die Räumlichkeiten des fwp Büros ein. Ich versuche in der resultierenden photographischen Arbeit, die sozialen Strukturen, Gesetzmäßigkeiten und auch die juristischen Inhalte dieser Umgebung zu erfassen und zu hinterfragen.

Stefanie De Vos

Modern Nomad | 2013
Mischtechniken auf Canvas
170 x 200 cm
Preis: € 1.900,-

Erobern! In den Arbeiten geht es um räumliches Umordnen, Bewegungen kontrollieren oder zulassen. Verschiedene Momente überlagern sich, manchmal in sanften weichen Übergängen, manchmal in harten Kontrasten.  Die Zusammenhänge, die so entstehen sind ein Versuch, der Realität näher zu kommen.

Der Entstehungsprozess ist vergleichbar mit der Geschichte und der Entstehung der Grenzen, die über unterschiedliche Zeiträume und durch Bewegung einzelner Menschen und Verbände, Natur, Zufall und Strategie immer wieder verschoben, vermischt, gezogen oder aufgelöst wurden. Die heutige Aufteilung ist nur aus den einzelnen Details der Geschichte verständlich. Ein Versuch die Geschichte als Ganzes lesbar zu machen kann nur scheitern, es gibt mehrere Erklärungen und Rekonstruktionsmethoden. Fragen werden aufgeworfen und wachsen. Es entsteht eine Art Unruhe, die sowohl wohltuend als auch bedrohend sein kann.

Agnes Prammer

„lorem ipsum“ | 2013
gerahmt 21 x 28cm
Ferrotypie, mit Siebdruck
Preis: € 1.400 pro Stück, Gesamte Serie: € 5.500

Agnes Prammer zeigt in der Serie „lorem ipsum“ fünf Ferrotypien (Fotografien auf Metallplatten, aufgenommen mit einer Technik aus dem 19. Jahrhundert). Die Künstlerin analysiert den Sprachgebrauch früherer kunstakt-Einladungstexte, die Brücken zwischen Kunst und Recht schaffen sollen, und paraphrasiert sie zu den ausgestellten Naturaufnahmen.

Überlagert werden die Fotografien von Siebdrucken einzelner Buchstaben. Gemeinsam ergeben sie das Wort „image“. Das Wortspiel „image/Bild“ versus „image/Prestige“ verknüpft wieder Kunst mit Recht, denn insbesondere in der Jurisprudenz hat Sprache – und auch das Spiel mit Sprache sowie ihre Auslegung – entscheidende Bedeutung. „Lorem ipsum“ entzieht sich jedoch einer eindeutigen Interpretation.

Darina Kmetova

From Off to On | 2013
Zeichnungen, Collagen
40x38cm, 50x38cm, 50x38cm, 50x38cm, 62x82cm, gerahmt

……in meinen Arbeiten visualisiere ich eine intensive Auseinandersetzung mit der Linie, die ich subtil, experimentell und sensuell einsetze. Meine bevorzugten Techniken sind Zeichnung, Collage und Tiefdruck.

Die Zeichnungen und Collagearbeiten verlieren ihre traditionelle Lesbarkeit in dem Moment in dem ich sie von den eingerahmten Bildträgern auf die Wand und im Raum  weiter  fortsetze, die Wand bezeichne und mit ausgeschnittenen, abgerissenen Papierelementen aus Zeitungen, Zeitschriften und gefundenen Schriften beklebe.

….es  ist ein zirkuläres Abtasten der immer wiederkehrenden, teils figurativen, teils abstrakten Sujets mit leichten flirrenden, sensiblen und subtilen Elementen.

Nora Hofbauer

Raumordnung | 2013
Objekte:
Nylonstrumpf, Füllwatte, Nähseide, MDF, Platten, Spachtelmasse
Preis: € 800 pro Stück

Zeichnungen:
Rötelstift auf Papier
14,8 x 21cm, gerahmt
Preis: € 170 pro Stück

In meiner Arbeit geht es um physische Orte, aber auch um geistige Konstruktionen, um persönliche Denk- und Handlungsräume, emotionale Modelle, welche Komplexität reduzieren und Ordnung ermöglichen, dabei aber auch begrenzen und einengen.

Diese Räume können erneuert, erweitert, umgebaut und neu eingerichtet, oder niedergerissen und neu konstruiert, veräußert oder einfach verlassen werden.

Es geht um die Frage nach Vorläufigkeit, Unvollständigkeit und Formbarkeit der gegeben Bedingungen und Bedingtheiten, und um die Möglichkeiten zu Wachstum und Veränderung innerhalb einer scheinbar oder tatsächlichen Ordnung.

Biomorphe Körper befinden sich in fragmentarischen Räumen, welche in den gegeben Räumlichkeiten temporär ihren Platz finden. Zeichnungen zeigen Ausschnitte aus einem sonst unzugänglichen und unsichtbaren, daher unbekannten Inneren.